College Championship Field Set - Major League Fishing

College Championship Field Set

58 teams to square off on Lake Keowee come spring
Image for College Championship Field Set
November 5, 2015 • Dominick Schenewerk • Uncategorized

Now that the 2015 FLW College Fishing Conference Championships are complete, 58 teams have earned the opportunity to fish in the 2016 FLW College Fishing National Championship.

Hosted by the Mountain Lakes Convention and Visitors Bureau on Lake Keowee in Seneca, S.C., the National Championship will take place March 17-19. Teams will compete for the most prestigious title in collegiate bass fishing along with the top prize of a Ranger Z175 bass boat.

The anglers on the winning National Championship team will also square off in a fish-off against one another, with the winner earning an opportunity to compete in the 2016 Forrest Wood Cup as a boater.


Teams earned their spots in the National Championship by finishing in the top 10 at the College Fishing Open or one of five Conference Championship events in 2015.

FLW requires that a team weigh at least one keeper in a tournament in order to place. At the Central Conference Championship on Lake Carlyle, only eight teams weighed in at least one keeper, so only those eight teams earned National Championship bids.

Also, Zachary Pickle and Drew Porto of the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville double-qualified via the College Fishing Open and the Southern Conference Championship. FLW extended the 10th qualifying spot at the Southern Conference Championship to the 11th-place team of John Ledet and Justin Cooper from Northwestern State University.

The Field

The 58 collegiate contenders, listed by qualifying route:

FLW College Fishing Open

University of Arkansas-Fayetteville – Zachary Pickle and Drew Porto

University of Alabama – Konnor Kennedy and Ethan Fleck

University of Illinois – Qiurun Chen and Luke Stoner

Northwest Missouri State University – Andrew Nordbye and Adam Almohtadi

Bethel University – Joseph Huggins and Ty Dyer

SIU-Edwardsville – Dalton Wesley and Zach Hartnagel

Bethel University – Grant Rutter and Kristopher Queen

Bethel University – Alec Piekarski and Kyler Chelminiak

UT-Chattanooga – Patrick Hoskins and Dillon Falardeau

Iowa State University – Zac Beek and Zachary Hartley


Central Conference

Winona State University – Wyatt Stout and Cade Laufenberg

Illinois State University – Bryce Wegman and Taylor Umland

Southern Illinois University – Steve Seiler and Kyle Wagner

Kansas State University – Kyle Alsop and Taylor Bivins

Kansas State University – Quinn Fowler and Dylan McKee

University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point – Samuel Sobieck and Connor Graham

University of Wisconsin-Platteville – Grant Ehlenfeldt and Brett Stanek

Kansas State University – Lance Maldonado and Ethan Dhuyvetter


Northern Conference

Ramapo College – Andrew Annuzzi and Andrew Zapf

Christopher Newport University – Travis Riley and Seth Winslow

Pennsylvania State University – Matt Bakewell and Tyler Smith

University of Akron – Anthony Villalba and Robert Webber

Adrian College – Jeff Morton and Nickolas Marsh

Fairmont State University – Landon Paul and Ryan Houser

Adrian College – Jarrett Martin and Jacob Bayer

Shenandoah University – Thomas Arens and Billy Arens

West Virginia University – Jacob Marshall and Matthew Combs

Lake Superior State University – Hunter Scharphorn and Jake Dorony


Southeastern Conference

Daytona State College – James Oltorik and Thomas Oltorik

Clemson University – Ross Burns and Isaac Nesbitt

Georgia Highlands College – Eric Fisher and Jake Akin

University of North Alabama – Dawson Lenz and Andrew Tate

Auburn University – Mitchell Jennings and Timmy Ward

Gadsden State Community College – Josh Oliver and Colby Smith

Western Carolina University – Tyler Thomasson and Josh Cannon

Auburn University – Ethan Hayes and Garrett Roberts

University of South Carolina – Chris Blanchette and Hampton Anderson

University of Alabama-Birmingham – Matthew Oliver and Justin Woodruff


Southern Conference

Dallas Baptist University – Zackery Hines and Reed Foster

University of Central Oklahoma– Brock Enmeier and Colten Hutson

Stephen F. Austin State University – Shelby Hutchens and Brian Blades

Southeastern Oklahoma State University – Dwight Camp and Jonathan Furlong

Colorado Mesa University – Josh Worth and Kennedy Kinkade

Texas A&M University – Josh Bensema and Matthew McArdle

Tarleton State University – Jacob Beyer and Dakota Ebare

University of Oklahoma – Charles Vang and Landon Dixon

Henderson State University – Michael Gross and Cobey Wingfield

Northwestern State University – John Ledet and Justin Cooper


Western Conference

California State University-Chico – Travis Bounds and Andrew Loberg

California Polytechnic State University – Johan Eide and Colton Farquer

Oregon State University – Zach MacDonald and Zach Martinez

California State University-Chico – Chas Brannon and Michael Woods

Eastern Washington University – Cy Floyd and Travis Opel

University of Oregon – Jacob Wall and Dalton Taylor

San Jose State University – Joey Fortina and Adam McAndrews

Sonoma State University – Jake Banuelos and Brent Nelson

Sacramento State University – Tanner Austin and Ethan Clark

Humboldt State University – Tristan Merlaud and Rudy Directo