Pinckneyville Wins Arkansas River Open - Major League Fishing

Pinckneyville Wins Arkansas River Open

Duo catches 10-3 to advance to the High School Fishing National Championship
Image for Pinckneyville Wins Arkansas River Open
Pinckneyville High School's Trey McKinney and Zachary Martin
September 23, 2019 • MLF • U.S. Army High School Fishing

Illinois’ Pinckneyville Community High School duo of Zachary Martin of Pinckneyville, Illinois, and Trey McKinney of Carbondale, Illinois, brought a five-bass limit to the scale Saturday weighing 10 pounds, 3 ounces to win the 2019 Bass Pro Shops FLW High School Fishing Arkansas River Open.

A field of 16 teams competed in the no-entry fee tournament, which launched from the North River Landing in North Little Rock. The tournament was hosted by the North Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau. In FLW and The Bass Federation (TBF) High School Fishing competition, the top 10-percent of teams competing advance to the High School Fishing National Championship.


The top team on the Arkansas River that advanced to the 2020 High School Fishing National Championship: 

 1st: Pinckneyville Community High School, Pinckneyville, Ill. – Zachary Martin, Pinckneyville, Ill., and Trey McKinney, Carbondale, Ill., five bass, 10-3


Rounding out the top 10 teams:

  2nd: Cabot High School, Cabot, Ark. – Cody Ostendorf and Masen Wade, both of Cabot, Ark., five bass, 7-11

  3rd: Bryant High School, Bryant, Ark. – Tucker Dottley, Little Rock, Ark., and Brandon Gabe, Benton, Ark., four bass, 6-15

  4th: Central Arkansas Flippin’ Outcasts, Cabot, Ark. – Davis Coleman and Grant Shahan, both of Sherwood, Ark., two bass, 5-5

  5th: Cabot High School, Cabot, Ark. – Harrison Friddle and Zachery Ward, both of Cabot, Ark., two bass, 4-9

  6th: Kay County Student Anglers, Kay County, Okla. – Hayden Newland, Ponca City, Okla., and Ty Downs, Newkirk, Okla., two bass, 4-3

  7th: Benton High School, Benton, La. – Peyton Grantham, Benton, La., and Tanner Underwood, Bossier City, La., two bass, 3-12

  8th: Vilonia High School, Vilonia, Ark. – Mason Davis, Vilonia, Ark., and Noah Yelich, Conway. Ark., two bass, 3-5

  9th: Independence High School, Frisco, Texas – Hunter Jenkins, McKinney, Texas and Hunter Triebel, Frisco, Texas, one bass, 2-7

  10th: Bauxite High School, Bauxite, Ark. – Brody Jacks, Tull, Ark., and Kanon Harmon, Benton, Ark., three bass, 2-6

Complete results from the event can be found at


The 2019 Bass Pro Shops FLW High School Fishing Arkansas River Open was a two-person (team) event for students in grades 7-12, open to any Student Angler Federation (SAF) affiliated high school club in the United States. The top 10 percent of each Challenge, Open, and state championship field will advance to the 2020 High School Fishing National Championship on the Mississippi River in La Crosse, Wisconsin. The High School Fishing national champions will each receive a $5,000 college scholarship to the school of their choice.