National Guard FLW College Fishing rolling to 1000 Islands - Major League Fishing

National Guard FLW College Fishing rolling to 1000 Islands

Northern Conference event set for Aug. 18
Image for National Guard FLW College Fishing rolling to 1000 Islands
The fishing possibilities are numerous on the St. Lawrence River and Lake Ontario for the Stren Series Northern. Photo by Rob Newell.
August 14, 2012 • MLF • Archives

CLAYTON, N.Y. – National Guard FLW College Fishing is headed to 1000 Islands Aug. 18 for the fourth and final qualifying event in the Northern Conference 2012 season. Forty college teams will be competing for a top award of $5,000 and a berth in the Northern Conference Championship tournament which is being held Sept. 13-15 on Philpott Lake in Martinsville, Va.

“Anglers should focus on the smallmouth,” said FLW Tour pro Adrian Avena, of Vineland, N.J., who started fishing FLW in college three years ago and placed 17th at the EverStart event in 2011. “There is a larger quantity of big smallmouth than kicker largemouth, but you have to be patient with the smallmouth and really stick with them.

“I would start deep, about 30 or more feet, drop-shotting tubes and wacky senkos, but it would be smart to have a back-up plan. Maybe try targeting isolated grass beds or docks. It will probably take about 17 or 18 pounds to win.”

Anglers will take off from French Creek Marina located at 250 Wahl Street in Clayton, N.Y., at 6:30 a.m. Saturday. Weigh-in will be at the marina beginning at 12:30 p.m. Takeoff and weigh-in are free and open to the public.

Schools competing in the 1000 Island tournament include:

Bowling Green State University – Kane Godfrey, Marysville, Ohio and Zachary Goeglein, Livonia, Mich.

Carnegie Mellon University – Paul Kimball, Jr., Glastonbury, Conn., and Joseph Kromka, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Castleton State College – Daniel Infurna and Patrick Infurna, both of Fair Haven, Vt.

Central Michigan – Sheldon Miller, Frankenmuth, Mich., and Will Sprague, Hastings, Mich.

Christopher Newport – Charlie Hill, Ashburn, Va., and Derek Berhalter, Farnham, Va.

College Misericordia – Willliam Hazlett and Matt Garnjost, both of Allentown, Pa.

Glenville State College – Brandon Abbott, Gandeeville, W. Va,. and Nick Lambert, Oceana, W. Va.

Hampden-Sydney College – Tyler Wolfe, Powatan, Va., and Braxton Elliott, Appomattox, Va.

Harvard University – Brian Dominianni, Point Pleasant Beach, N.J., and Cody Cleveland, Hermon, N.Y.

Kent State University – John Sinkovich, Alliance, Ohio, and Jennifer Newman, South Amherst, Ohio

La Roche College – Jonathan Coholich, Allison Park, Pa., and Richard Smith, Cheswick, Pa.

Liberty University – Chris Parent, Hermon, Maine and George Amedore, Schenectady, N.Y.

Longwood University – Jeffrey Wiggins, Williamsburg, Va., and Greg Ewing,Bristow, Va.

Mansfield University – Kyle Mckee, Newville, Pa., and Garrett Obrock, Mansfield, Pa.

Michigan State University – Thomas Rumpf, Perrysburg, Ohio and Luke Baker, Lansing, Mich.

Morrisville State College – Scott Morris, Elizabethtown, N.Y., and Zachary Cappon, Williamson, N.Y.

Ohio State – Kyle Feucht, Marysville, Ohio and Tyler Berger, Worthington, Ohio

Ohio University – Dan Burtenshaw, Athens, Ohio and Victor Colella, West Middlesex, Pa.

Penn State – Seth Baker, State College, Pa., and Matthew Marasco, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Radford University – Justin Witten, Radford, Va., and Philip Cox, Hiwassee, Va.

Ramapo College – Jeffrey Voss, Secaucus, N.J., and Joseph Zapf, Whippany, N.J.

Rochester Institute of Technology – Jordon Davis, DeKalb Junction, N.Y., and Steve Digerardo, Pompton Lakes, N.J.

Roanoke College – Reid Mizelle. Chesapeake, Va., and Ryan Anderson, Salem, Va.

Shepherd University – Joseph Lavelle, Alexandria, Va., and Kyle McHenry, Hamilton, Va.

Slippery Rock University – Corey Randour, Washington, Pa., and Tyler Lonchar, Clinton, Pa.

Springfield College – Daniel Patane, Canastota, N.Y., and Tyler Reid, Dighton, Mass.

State University of New York – Buffalo – Ryan Samland, Grand Island, N.Y., and Tony Piascik, Weedsport, N.Y.

State University of New York – Plattsburgh – Chris Benninger, Grand Island, N.Y., and Richard Lee, Port Kent, N.Y.

State University of New York – Buffalo – Keith Fields, Buffalo, N.Y., and Matt Smith, Williamsville, N.Y.

University of Pennsylvania – Shippensburg – Dylan Miller, Shippensburg, Pa., and Bradley Stednitz, St. Clair, Pa.

University of Akron – Rob Conley, North Canton, Ohio and Austin Levering, Calenonia, Ohio

University of Connecticut – Matthew Chouinard, Grafton, Mass., and Grant Cunningham, Unionville, Conn.

Vermont Technical College – Kyle Sabourin, Milton, Vt., and Justin Brouillard, Rochester, Vt.

Virginia Commonwealth – Cody Johnson, Chesterfield, Va., and Alexander Miller, Moseley, Va.

Virginia Tech – Clay Ross, Goode, Va., and Mark Condron, Wilton, Conn.

Vermont Military Institute – Frederick Vilushis, Phenix, Va., and Ryan Dick, Manassas, Va.

Wayne State University – Grant Quinn, Saint Clair Shores, Mich., and Matt Keller, Sterling Heights, Mich.

West Point – Cadet Justin Hunter and Nick Koop, both of West Point, N.Y.

West Virginia University – Corey Straight, Barrackville, W. Va., and Benjamin Ray, Morgantown, W. Va.

Xavier University – Ty Styons and Andrew Decilles, both of Fairfield, Ohio

Four regular-season qualifying events are held in each conference – Central, Northern, Southeastern, Southern and Western. The top five teams from each qualifying tournament will advance to one of five televised three-day National Guard FLW College Fishing Conference Championships, where the first-place team wins a Ranger 177TR bass boat with a 90-horsepower Evinrude or Mercury outboard. The top five teams from each conference championship advance to the national championship.

College Fishing is free to enter and FLW provides boats and drivers for each competing team along with travel allowances. All participants must be registered, full-time undergraduate students at a four-year college or university and members of a fishing club recognized by their college or university.

For regular updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow College Fishing on Facebook at and on Twitter at Visit to sign up or to start a club at your school.

About FLW

FLW is the industry’s premier tournament-fishing organization, providing unparalleled fishing resources and entertainment to our sponsors, fans and host communities. FLW is offering anglers of all skill levels the opportunity to compete for millions in prize money nationwide in 2012 over the course of 191 tournaments across five tournament circuits, each providing an avenue to the sport’s richest payday and most coveted championship trophy – the Forrest Wood Cup. FLW is committed to providing a lifestyle experience that is the “Best in Fishing, On and Off the Water,” through a variety of platforms including tournaments, outdoor expos and the world’s richest fantasy sports game – FLW Fantasy Fishing. For more information about FLW and FLW Fantasy Fishing, visit or and look for FLW on Twitter and Facebook.